

2018/SOM3/AVG/DIA/001

Agenda

Submitted by: SOM Chair



Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue on APEC Toward 2020 and Beyond Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea 15 August 2018

2018 Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue on APEC Toward 2020 and Beyond ICC Auditorium, Port Moresby, 15 August 2018 <u>Agenda</u>

Through a series of moderated panel discussions, the dialogue seeks to analyze in depth the unfinished business of the Bogor Goals and the future drivers of growth in the Asia-Pacific region. Perspectives on what APEC is currently doing, and how it could do better, provides the starting point.

08:45	Session One – Opening Session
- 09:15	The opening will set out the dialogue objectives and expectations, particularly on the active engagement of participants, including external experts, APEC Senior Officials and delegates, other key stakeholders and AVG members.
	Welcome, Format and Expectations for 2018 Dialogue
	 The Hon. Charles Abel, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Treasury, Papua New Guinea Mr David Toua, Chair, APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) Ambassador Su Ge, Co-Chair, Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC) Ambassador Allan Wagner, Chair, APEC Vison Group (AVG)
09:15	Session Two – Addressing the Unfinished Business of the Bogor Goals
- 09:45	The session will open with a scene-setting address on the evolving patterns of cross- border business in the Asia-Pacific region. This will be followed by panel discussions on key areas of APEC work in relation to the unfinished agenda.
	Moderator:Dr Alan Bollard, Executive Director, APEC Secretariat
	Address: The Importance of the Unfinished Business of the Bogor Goals for Modern Trade Dynamics
	• Dr Fukunari Kimura, Chief Economist, Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia
09:45	Panel 1: Services and Investment
- 10:45	Moderator:
10.10	Mr Anthony Nightingale, AVG, Hong Kong China
	 Panel: Mr Maxim Berdichevsky, Convenor, APEC Investment Experts Group Ms Krasna Bobenrieth, Convenor, APEC Group on Services Ms Jane Drake Brockman, Asia Pacific Services Coalition Mr Sean Doherty, Head, International Trade & Investment, WEF Mr Nikolai Malyshev, Head of the Regulatory Policy Division, OECD Mr Ken Waller, Executive Director, ABAC

10:45	Tea Break
- 11:15	
11.15	
11:15	Panel 2: Trade Facilitation, Supply Chains and Connectivity
- 12:15	Moderator:
	Ms Alison Mann, AVG, New Zealand
	Panel:
	Mr Cho Seong-kyun, Lead Shepherd, APEC Transportation Working Group
	Mr Shinya Fujita, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan
	Mr Kenneth Schagrin, Deputy-Assistant USTR, United States
	 Mr Benjamin Tan, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Singapore Dr Yao Weiqun, Executive Director, Shanghai Institute for Strategy and
	International Trade Center
12:15	Summary Session on the Unfinished Business of the Bogor Goals
-	
13:00	Moderator:
	• Mr Jonathan Fried, AVG, Canada
	Panel:
	• Mr Justin Allen, Chair, APEC Committee on Trade and Investment
	 Dr Fukunari Kimura, Chief Economist, Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia
	 Ms Joanna Hewitt, AVG, Australia
	• Dr Yang Zerui, Acting Director, China National Committee for Pacific
	Economic Cooperation
13:00	Lunch
-	
14:30	
14:30	Session Three – Future Drivers of Growth in the Asia-Pacific Region
15:00	The session will open with a scene-setting address which will provide an overview of the
	future drivers of growth in Asia-Pacific region as they relate to APEC work. This will
	be followed by panel discussions on key aspects of growth.
	Moderator:
	Ambassador Vijavat Isarabhakdi, AVG, Thailand
	Address: Future Drivers of Growth in the Asia-Pacific Region
	• Dr Denis Hew, Director, APEC Policy Support Unit

15:00	Panel 3: Inclusive and Sustainable Growth
- 16:00	Moderator
10.00	Dr Jorge Sahd, AVG Chile
	Panel:
	 Dr Jyuung-Shiauu Chern, Lead Shepherd, APEC Energy Working Group Mr Tomasz Kozluk, Senior Economist and Head, OECD Going for Growth and
	Resilience Workstream
	Ms Sarah Jean Lawley, Co-Chair, APEC Health Working Group
	 Mr Mahendra Siregar, AVG, Indonesia Ms Sherry Stephenson, PECC Services Task Force
	 Ms Sherry Stephenson, PECC Services Task Force Mr Fredrick Tamarua, Chair, APEC Policy Partnership on Women and the
	Economy
16:00	Tea Break
16:30	
16:30	Panel 4: Balanced, Innovative and Secure Growth
- 17:30	Moderator:
17.50	 Mr Rory McLeod, PECC 2020 Task Force and NZPECC
	Panel:
	Dr Liu Chenyang, AVG, China Dr Ban Dungan, Emeritus Professor, Australia National University
	 Dr Ron Duncan, Emeritus Professor, Australia National University Dr Pavel Kadochnikov, AVG, Russia
	 Christin Kjelland, Chair, APEC Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and
	Innovation (TBC)
	Mr Robert Logie, Chair, APEC Economic Committee
	Mr Jamie Lin, AVG, Chinese Taipei
17:30	Summary Session on the Future Drivers of Growth in the Asia-Pacific Region
-	
18:15	Moderator:
	Eduardo Pedrosa, PECC Secretary General
	Panel:
	• Dr Denis Hew, Director, APEC Policy Support Unit
	Mr Robert Logie, Chair, APEC Economic Committee
	Mr Phil O'Reilly, ABAC, New Zealand Mr Finders Pauli, DECC Tools Frances ADEC Present 2020
	 Mr Firdaos Rosli, PECC Task Force on APEC Beyond 2020 Prof Tan Kong Yam, AVG, Singapore
	• The fair Kong Fain, AVG, Singapore
18:15	Session Four – Closing Remarks
-	
18:30	 Ambassador Allan Wagner, Chair, APEC Vision Group Ambassador Ivan Pomaleu, APEC SOM Chair 2018
	• Ambassaudi Ivali romaicu, Ar EC SOlvi Chali 2016